How to Delete Your Apple ID via the New Data and Privacy Portal | Tech News

If you have an extra Apple account you don’t need, or just want out of Apple completely, you can use the Data and Privacy portal to delete your Apple ID.

Apple this year launched a new Data and Privacy portal. You can use it to correct erroneous personal info Apple has stored related to your account. It allows users in European countries to download all data Apple has about you – similar to getting a complete record of your data from services like Facebook or Instagram. Users in all countries can also use this portal to delete your Apple account. If you’re done with Apple or have a second Apple ID you no longer need, here is how to delete it.

Delete Your Apple ID

First, you need to head to Apple’s Data and Privacy portal at privacy.apple.com and log in with the Apple ID and password that you want to kill off. If you have two-factor authentication enabled, you’ll need to take the extra steps to verify your identity. Then click Continue on the Apple ID & Privacy intro screen and then click Get started under the Delete Your Account section.

Now you can review the information Apple provides regarding deleting your account. It’s important to note that the deletion process can take up to seven days to complete. Once your account is gone, you won’t be able to access your photos, documents, and other files stored on iCloud. So, before initiating the process, make sure to take the recommended steps like backing up your data and sign out of your devices. Choose a reason for the deletion and then click Continue.

Next, you’ll need to work through a few screens that will allow you to review info on the account deletion – yes, it’s redundant – but Apple wants to make certain you want to kill the account. Then agree to the Deletion Terms & Conditions.

Then you need to choose a contact method that you want to use to receive any account status updates.

Almost done. Apple will provide a unique access code that you will need to print or keep a copy of. You will need it later to verify your identity if you need to contact Apple Support. It can also be used if you change your mind and want to cancel the deletion process. On the next screen, you will need to type in that unique code to confirm you have it.

Finally, you’ll get another message telling you that you’re not going to be able to access anything from Apple and you just need to click the red Delete account button.

You’re done. Remember, it can take up to seven days for the account to be completely deleted. During that time, you can go to the Apple Data and Privacy portal and you’ll see a notification on the right-side of the screen letting you know the account is in the process of deletion.

Apple will send you a message to the contact method you chose letting you know your account is being deleted. If you decide you want to cancel the deletion, you can contact customer support and give them the unique identity code provided for verification and stop the process. However, you will need to do it within a few days before the deletion process is final.

If you’re deleting your account, chances are you’re sure you want to get rid of it, so all the extra verification steps are a bit annoying. In my case, I have extra accounts (too many in fact) for testing different services. So it’s nice to be able to clean out the ones I no longer need. Still, it’s good Apple want you to be sure if you’re canceling your main and only account.



Prosyscom Tech News publishes relevant guest contributions from the community. Share your honest opinions and expert knowledge by submitting your content here.

You might also like More from author