Facebook Knows When Someone Posts Your Nudes but Won’t Tell You

If someone tries to upload revenge porn  naked pictures of a former partner online to “punish” or harass them or any other nudes of someone else to Facebook, the site claims that its automated system will be able to detect and prevent it.

But the would-be victims of that revenge porn would never know it happened, reports The Daily Dot, as Facebook will not out any notifications about the attempt. It’s a surprising level of secrecy around a system meant to block criminal behavior on the platform, especially given that further harassment could happen elsewhere.

Sealed Vault

As Futurism reported last year, Facebook’s plan involves creating “digital fingerprints” for lewd or compromising pictures that were pre-emptively shared with Facebook’s security team.

If anyone else tried to post a picture matching that digital fingerprint, the upload would be blocked.

Closed Doors

The decision to keep would-be victims in the dark is confusing. Sending would-be victims a push notification about attempted harassment could be traumatizing, reports TechNews, but the blanket decision to not tell anyone could keep people from taking action to prevent further harassment. Gizmodo advocates for an option to opt-in to notifications about an attempted revenge porn upload.

While the “digital fingerprint” program still raises plenty of questions about privacy, it seems like a no-brainer to not insist on keeping people in the dark about attempts to harass them online.

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.