What Time Does Nintendo Switch Online Launch? | Gaming News

The perfect source for uptodate



Booking.com


Share.

It’s day! But when can you actually subscribe?

previously announced the Switch Online subscription service would launch on Sept. 18. Of course, today is Sept. 18, and the service hasn’t yet launched — but if you’re worrying, fear not, we do have a specific frame in mind for when you can subscribe.

The Nintendo Switch is going through maintenance today, Sept. 18, from 5-8 p.m. PT/8-11 p.m. ET/1-4 a.m. BST on Sept. 19/10 a.m.-1 p.m. AEST on Sept. 19. The 6.00 update is scheduled to be deployed at the beginning of that timeframe, and the eShop will be going through maintenance and will be inaccessible during that time.

After the maintenance is complete, Nintendo Switch Online will be available for purchase. So, unfortunately, you’ll have to wait until that maintenance is up to dive into the subscription service. But even after that period is over, you’ll still have to update your system to access the eShop.

While you wait for the service to go live, be sure to catch up on everything we’ve learned about the Switch Online service in recent days. Among the things Nintendo has recently revealed is that NES games can be played for only a certain amount of time offline before reconnecting to the internet, you can pay for your Switch Online subscription with My Nintendo Points, and exclusive Splatoon 2 gear can be obtained by having a Switch Online subscription.

The initial NES games that can be downloaded with the service include The Legend of Zelda, Super Mario Bros., Donkey Kong and 17 other titles. Nintendo revealed wireless NES-style controllers for the Switch during its latest Nintendo Direct.

Also, catch up on how cloud save data is deleted if your subscription expires, and why some games like Fortnite won’t require users to pay for the service to play online.

Stay tuned to Tech for more on Nintendo Switch Online as it launches.

Jonathon Dornbush is Tech’s News Editor. Find him on Twitter @jmdornbush.

Advertisements

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.